Watermelon Jam

Standard

So, this week I thought I would try my hand at watermelon jam. It’s something I have wanted to try for a long time seeing as how it’s something very traditionally South African and I have never made it before.

 

Well, I went online and found a simple enough looking recipe which involved 6 Cups of pureed watermelon pulp and 1kg of setting sugar….well, I ended up with watermelon puree instead of jam.  

For a couple of days my very runny (but extremely yummy) jam sat in the fridge until my Mom came over and suggested reboiling it and adding another packet of setting mix. So we did..and it worked! Here I was thinking my jam was done for and now it’s all fixed! Where would we be without Mom’s who have been there and done that all before?  It was a lot of work and in the end was quite an expensive batch of jam but you can’t buy experience can you?  So, even though it was a long and complicated process I do believe I will try my hand at jam again..just not today!  🙂

Leave a Reply

