My-Oh-Meyer Lemon Bundt Cake

Standard

As you all know I like baking and cooking vegan alot of the time and I’m always on the hunt for new and yummy vegan cake and cupcake recipes. Now, a few years ago, I was of the opinion that a vegan cake was a bad cake..in every way. You see, I had tried many recipes given to me by well-meaning people and to be honest, they all tasted like cardboard.  Every cookbook I tried was worse. So I just stopped baking. A few years later I was no longer completely vegan so was free to bake the old-fashioned way again BUT I LOVE the challenge of making a cake healthier and yet still yummy!  Anyway. 

In the meantime it has become the fashion to be vegan and healthy and all that and how there are tons of cool, funky, and, frankly, FANTASTIC vegan baking books out there. My very first super successful vegan cupcake was my lychee cupcakes which are always devoured within minutes of me putting them on a plate.  Since then I have been trying out many alternative methods and last year I stumbled across this fabulous book: 

Have your cake and vegan too : 50 dazzling and delicious cake creations / Kris Holechek.

and it really changed the way I looked at vegan cakes. If your local library has it I recommend you get it and start baking! Below is one of the recipes from the book!

My-Oh-Meyer Lemon Bundt Cake

2 Cups flour
1 1/4 Cups oats
1 1/4 Cups sugar
1 T baking powder
1/2 t baking soda
1/4 t salt
1 1/2 Cups milk
about 3 meyer lemons
zested and juice (about 1/3 Cup lemon juice)
1/3 Cup oil
1/2 t vanilla
1 Cup fresh or frozen berries

Preheat oven to 180. Grease a bundt cake tin.

In a medium bowl combine the flour, oats, sugar, baking powder, soda, and salt. IN a large bowl, combine the milk and lemon zest, and juice, and let sit for
a few minutes. Add the oil and vanilla and mix to combine. Mix in the dry ingredients and lastly fold in the berries.

Bake for 48-52 minutes. Let cool in the pan on a cooking rack for 20 minutes.

This is a totally new take on a vegan cake. It’s a really healthy option to what can often end up being a sugar laden, fibreless sponge. 

I will be posting some more recipes from this and other books in the next week. 

If you can get your hands on it I suggest you buy this book! I am looking for it at the moment! Quickly scribbled down copies are all very well but sometimes you just need the book!

Happy Baking!

Leilani

Leave a Reply

