Vetkoek & Mince

Standard

Vetkoek & Mince is a staple in South Africa. It’s a total comfort food too! It’s one of the yummiest things you will ever taste in your life!

Some of my fondest childhood memories are of eating vetkoek on the backsteps with cousins or friends and my faithful labrador, Tia sitting at my feet waiting patiently for the piece she knew I would save for her 😉

So, even though these wonderful morsels are not what you would call very healthy, whenever I’m having a really blue day and just missing home, this is what I feel like eating. (I try to limit myself to those longings to once in 6 months as we are talking some seriously good, and fattening food here!)

Yesterday was, well, the weather was cold and miserable and we hadn’t had vetkoek in so long that I decided it was time. I only ever make them on a Sunday as it takes a little while and that way I can rope my Liefie into doing the deep frying as he is so much better at it than me.  (I never deep fry for the exception of vetkoek).

In light of just how fantastically yummy it was I thought I just have to share the recipe and the whole process with you right down to the vege mince that is vegan/vegetarian friendly! 🙂

Let’s start right a the beginning!

Vetkoek Recipe

5 Cups plain flour

2 t instant yeast (or active dried yeast)

2 t sugar

1 t salt

2.5 Cups warm water

Method:

Sift the flour into a bowl and add the yeast, sugar, and salt.

Mix it all together.

Pour in the warm water a little at a time, mixing as you go.

Once a soft dough has formed place it on a clean surface sprinkled with some flour.

Knead the dough for about 15 minutes until it has a smooth, elastic texture.

Grease a bowl with oil or butter, place the dough in the bowl, cover and rest for about 20 minutes or until it has doubled in size.

(This is normally where I start my mince)

Flour the surface again.

Cut into equal portions.

Heat up some oil and deep fry the dough portions.

Don’t overcrowd the pan as this will reduce the oils temperature.

Here is the process in pictures:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Vege Mince

I sort of make this up as I got along using a basic recipe from a cookbook but each time I make it a little different.

I will give you the general idea and you can experiment with it as you please.

1 Cup TVP mince

1 1/2 Cups boiling water

2 t paprika

1 T flour

1 large onion, chopped

2 medium carrots, chopped

1 capsicum, chopped

3 Cups sliced mushrooms

1 1/2 Cups vege stock with a little vege gravy powder thrown in of extra flavour.

2 T soy sauce

2 t mixed herbs of your choice

1 t salt

Place TVP in a small saucepan with boiling water. Cook till all the water is absorbed. Then stir in the flour and paprika. In the meantime, saute the onions in your wok or pan, then add the mince. Add all your chopped veges and stock and flavourings and simmer till your veges are tender.

Cut open a hot vetkoek, lather with butter, and fill with mince for to-die-for-peole!!! treat!!

Enjoy! And remember you have not lived completely until you taste this wonderful thing!

Leave a Reply

