Banana Fudge Striped Cake

Standard

On Monday afternoon I was getting the baking craving..you fellow bakers out there know what this is…that dreadfully desperate feeling that you simply MUST BAKE SOMETHING!!

I had three bananas looking at me from the banana bowl and, well, not to be insulting or anything but they were only really good for one thing, a banana cake or bread. Now, I am tired of my never-fail banana bread recipe that I usually fall back on. But I have never been very successful with banana cakes for some reason. So it was with some trepidation that I fell upon this Banana Fudge Striped Cake recipe in “Have your Cake and VEgan Too” but I decided to be brave and go to battle with my nemesis! 

 

We all have a baking nemesis right?  My Mom’s when I was a child was sponge cakes if I remember correctly. For one of my dear friends her nemesis involved anything that involves flour or indeed the word baking! Mine is banana cake!  They just never turn out right. They’re always just too banana-y…we all know that is a dreadful problem!! Or they are too damp. Or too dry. They’re just never quite right. So imagine my nervousness about this unconventional baby!

I melted and I mixed and I poured and I zigzagged and I anxiously checked through the oven door every few minutes as my banana cake baked.  Finally it was done, I pulled it out and Hey! It didn’t look half bad.  It smelled pretty good too! I waited the appropriate amount of time (this is debatable!) and cut a piece….what followed was a simply heavenly experience! I cut a piece for my hubby and he took a big  bite and his eyes lit up and with cheek bulging he informed me, “Babe, this is SOOOO Good!”! For the first time in my life I have conquered the banana cake!! It truly is the best banana cake I have ever tasted!  

So I thought I would share the wonderful recipe here with you all! It just begs to be baked! You won’t be sorry!

Banana Fudge STriped Cake

Fudge Stripe Sauce

1/3 Cup chocolate chips

1 t agave nectar, corn syrup, or brown rice syrup ( I used plain old golden syrup)

1 T nondairy milk

2 T margarine

Cake

2 Cup flour

1 1/4 Cups sugar (organic…I used ordinary raw brown sugar)

2 t baking powder

1/2 t baking soda

1/4 t salt

1/2 t mild vinegar

1 Cup mashed ripe banana

1/4 Cup oil

1 t vanilla

To make the sauce, in a small saucepan, combine the chocolate chips, agave, milk, and margarine. Cook on medium heat, stirring frequently, until the chocolate and margarine have melted. Whisk to combine and remove from heat. Let the mixture cool.

Preheat the oven to 180. Light grease and flour an 8-inch square pan.

To make the cake, in a medium bowl, combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, baking soda, and salt. In a large bowl combine the milk and vinegar and let sit for a few minutes to activate the vinegar. Add the mashed banana, oil, and vanilla and mix till combined. Incorporate half the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients, blending until just mixed, then repeat with the other half. Spread the banana mixture evenly in the prepared pan. Drizzle the cooled fudge sauce in stripes along the banana mixture. Run a butter knife through the stripes to make a zigzag pattern.

Bake for 37-42 minutes, until a toohpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Let cool in the pan on a cooling rack for 40-60 minutes before serving. Store covered in the fridge.

ps.  I had to bake mine for a lot longer than the said time above. Just so you know.

Here is a picture of a piece of this yummy cake! It might not look like much but it tastes amazing!

Image

One response »

  1. Pingback: Banana Fudge Striped Cake | Leilani's Letters

Leave a Reply

