Patchwork Blanket

Standard

As you all now I love all things patchwork, and, while I am not amazing at patchwork myself I do like to mess around with patchwork fabric (cut into mostly square shapes for ease) as I adore the colours and the themes of the fabrics.

I have lots of leftover squares from my patchwork skirts stage and so I decided it was time to make something with them.  I then discovered a not very inspiring piece of sweat shirting fabric that has been lying around for ages and an idea was born. A quilt and a blanket all rolled into one! I used the soft, fluffy side of the sweat shirting for the blanket side so it is gloriously soft to the touch.

 I can’t say that this project went smoothly because it definitely didn’t and there are a lot of mistakes but thanks to lots of bright colours only I really know they are there. I am quite happy with the finished result especially as the sweat shirting is slightly stretchy and I was expecting all sorts of ramifications but weirdly enough the complications arrived in other unexpected parts of the project.

However, here we are, it’s finished! Last night my hubby and I snuggled under it while watching old 90s comedies and we were very snug I must say! So it has already served it’s purpose.  Here are some pictures of the process:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Leave a Reply

