Pampoenkoekies/Pumpkin Fritters

Standard

Pampoenkoekies are a South African tradition. I don’t make them as often as I would like to but when I do they are always so good!  I thought I would share my recipe with you. I am translating it from Afrikaans so bear with me 🙂  (I speak almost more Afrikaans now than English so sometimes my English goes a little downhill;)

Pampoenkoekies/Pumpkin Fritters

250g blended, cooked, pumpkin

1-2 eggs

120g flour

5-7 ml baking powder

15ml sugar

pinch of salt

5 ml lemon juice

1 ml cinnamon (optional)

Drain the cooked pumpkin and blend it.  Whisk the eggs in a bowl and add the pumpkin.  Sift the flour and baking powder and mix it in along with all the other ingredients.  

Heat a frying pan with a little oil.  Drop tablespoons of the batter in and cook them like you would a crumpet/pikelet.  They are heavenly when warm! 

That’s about all there is to it. The Afrikaans recipe was a mile long so I just gave you the method I use. It’s simple, easy, and it works!

Enjoy and have a great weekend!

Image

Ps. Note my African tablecloth! My Mom-in-law brought it back from South Africa for me in January!

Leave a Reply

