Alternation

Standard

Years ago I got this book from the local library called “Alternation” and it was all about altering ready-to-wear clothing to make it more you.  It was a cool book with lots of funky ideas but, to be honest, I just don’t buy clothing to pull it to pieces and put it back together again to make it more “me”. Perhaps it’s because I am too lazy or that I just prefer to buy something that I like in the first place. 

Whatever the reason I have never tried it. Until today. A couple of weeks ago I was at one of my favourite thrift stores on the Peninsula and I saw this dress and totally fell in love with it! 

Image

I just loved the fabric and colours but there was just one problem…it was waaaay too big for me! I just couldn’t bear to leave it there on the rack though. It was brand new and only $7. Then I had a bright idea, I could make it into a skirt! So I bought it and today, I finally got around to turning it into a skirt. It turned out so cute! I love it! And I can’t wait for the weather to get warmer so I can get back into my cotton skirts and jandals again! 

Image

Don’t you just love it?

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

